Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
JHI Blog Symposium: "Ideas in/about Interaction"
*June 4*
Each panel is one-hour long. You may attend any throughout the day.
See the full schedule below.


*PANEL 1: Authorship in Question (7:00 am PDT/10:00 am EDT/3:00 pm BST/7:30 pm IST)*
Discussant: Professor Manan Ahmed, Columbia University

Juan Carlos G Mantilla, Columbia University
Inventing Indio, Becoming Author: Theories of Indigenous Authorship in the Early Modern Andes

Manaswini Sen, University of Hyderabad
The Most Potent Tool of Agitprop? Pamphleting, Working-Class Mobilization, and Intellectual History from Below: A Case Study of Trade Unionism in Late Colonial Bengal (1920-47)

Kentaro Inagaki, University of Copenhagen
Levinus Warner (d. 1665) and Unsung Amanuenses: Early Modern Oriental Scholarship from the Viewpoint of Ottoman Assistants


*PANEL 2: Genres of Collaboration (8:15 am PDT/11:15 am EDT/4:15 pm BST/8:45 pm IST)*
Discussant: Professor Nasser Zakariya, University of California Berkeley

Joslyn DeVinney, Columbia University
Authorship in Translation: An 18th-century Persian Medical Manual

Fyza Parviz Jazra, Stanford University
The Myth of the Lone European Astronomer in the Near East: John Greaves’s Interactions with the Local Arab Astronomers

Anish Gawande, University of Oxford
Contested Creations: Invention and Innovation within the Mushaira


*PANEL 3: Rethinking Archives (10:00 am PDT/1:00 pm EDT/6:00 pm BST/10:30 pm IST)*
Discussant: Professor Sophie Smith, University of Oxford

Kelvin Ng, Yale University
Itineraries of Self-Respect: Oceanic Migration, Intellectual Labor and Anti-Caste Reform, 1929–40

Zachary Desjardins-Mooney, Columbia University
"For Seeing, so as Not to Talk About Them”: On “Wander Lines” and the Presuppositions of Intellectual History

Edoardo Vaccari, London School of Economics
Heretic Socialism: Collaborative Authorship in the Antifascist Journal Quaderni di Giustizia e Libertà (1932–1935)

*

JUNE 11 (7:00 am PDT/10:00 am EDT/3:00 pm BST/7:30 pm IST)
Follow-up discussion for all panels
Meeting logo
Meeting is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Meeting host: Shuvatri Dasgupta, Isa Jacobs, and Thomas Furse.